World road race champion Mads Pedersen, Olympic road race champion Greg Van Avermaet and last year’s Vuelta a España winner, Primož Roglič, are among the riders who will participate in The Digital Swiss 5 races next week.

The star cast also includes Julian Alaphillipe, who lit up the 2019 Tour de France, rising star Remco Evenepoel and  Vincenzo Nibali, one of only two riders still competing who has won all three Grand Tours.

Over the five races starting on Wednesday, April 22, they’ll be joined on the ROUVY Indoor Cycling platform by other top riders whose specialisms cover one-day, stage and time trial racing. The 19 teams will field three riders in each race and can change their line-ups from day to day. The full list of riders is below and a start list will be published before each race.

Mads Pedersen, Trek-Segafredo, said: “Normally, I don’t like to spend time on my home trainer but right now, I actually enjoy it. Especially with the races coming up, it’s really nice that we can compete against each other and find a different solution in this difficult situation everyone is in. I think it’s great that we can race against each other while keeping our distance so I’m really looking forward to doing some hard racing and getting the heart rate up again.”

Greg Van Avermaet, CCC Team, said: “After my first taste of virtual racing a couple of weeks ago, I am interested to see how I go in The Digital Swiss 5. Virtual racing is definitely not easy. The races may be much shorter than normal races but the effort is much more intense and you have a much smaller window of opportunity to make the difference when it comes to tactics. I’m happy we are giving fans something to watch while we are not racing on the road. I think it’s important for everyone. As well as giving fans entertainment, it gives the riders some motivation and it is a chance for the teams to show their sponsors. We’re in for some tough races next week so I'll give it everything I have to get another virtual win under my belt.”

Julian Alaphillipe, Deceuninck - Quick-Step Team, said: “I am really looking forward to racing The Digital Swiss 5. It is a new type of race for me, very different to anything I have done before, but I know the set-up will be really good and it is great that we are able to race during this difficult time and have something where we can focus and test our condition. I hope that the fans will enjoy watching what will be some tough days of racing.”

Edvald Boasson Hagen, NTT Pro Cycling, said: “Our entire team is excited about this new event. It’s nice to have a goal to aim for during this period in time where we can’t race on the road. I have spent a lot of time riding on the trainer at home in training, but to race on it will be a first. I think it will be exciting viewing for all the fans, it’s great for our sponsors and for us riders, I think it will be very very hard racing, so it should be fun.”

The riders are spread out across the world and most are only able to ride on their home trainers because of restrictions brought about by the COVID-19 virus.

The race routes are a mixture of flat, hilly and mountain profiles and are taken from the parcours of the Tour de Suisse. The ROUVY platform uses real video footage and riders are represented by an avatar, dressed in their team kit.

The Digital Swiss 5 races will be broadcast and streamed online around the world. Information about how to watch will be published shortly.


AG2R La Mondiale

Romain Bardet

Mikaël Cherel

Silvan Dillier

Julien Duval

Mathias Frank

Ben Gastaur

Dorian Godon

Alexis Gougeard

Pierre Latour

Oliver Naesen

Aurélien Paret-Peintre

Nans Peters

Alexis Vuillermoz

Larry Warbasse

Bahrain McLaren

Pello Bilbao

Grega Bole

Eros Capecchi

Sonny Colbrelli

Ivan Garcia Cortina

Matej Mohorič

Jan Tratnik

Hermann Pernsteiner

Wout Poels

Santiago Buitrago Sanchez


Emanuel Buchmann

Matteo Fabbro

Patrick Gamper

Lennard Kämna

Patrick Konrad

Martin Laas

Lukas Pöstleberger

Max Schachmann

Ide Schelling

CCC Team

William Barta

Victor De La Parte

Simon Geschke

Joey Rosskopf

Michael Schâr

Attila Valter

Greg Van Avermaet

Nathan Van Hooydonck

Ilnur Zakarin

Kamil Gradek (reserve)

Pavel Kochetkov (reserve)

Fausto Masnada (reserve)

Gjis Van Hoecke (reserve)

Deceuninck - Quick-Step

Julian Alaphilippe

Kasper Asgreen

Andrea Bagioli

Sam Bennett

Mattia Cattaneo

Rémi Cavagna

Tim De Clercq

Dries Devenyns

Remco Evenepoel

Bob Jungels

Michael Mørkøv

Pieter Serry

Zdenek Štybar

EF Pro Cycling

Sean Bennett

Simon Clarke

Magnus Cort

Lawson Craddock

Mitch Docker

Moreno Hofland

Lachlan Morton

Jonas Rutsch

Tom Scully

James Whelan


Bruno Armirail

Kilian Frankiny

David Gaudu

Simon Guglielmi

Stefan Küng

Matthieu Ladagnous

Fabian Lienhard

Tobias Ludvigsson

Valentin Madouas

Rudy Molard

Sébastian Reichenbach

Benjamin Thomas

Israel Start-Up Nation

Matteo Badilatti

Alexander Cataford

Davide Cimolai

Daniel Navarro Garcia

André Greipel

Reto Hollenstein

Daniel Martin

Guy Niv

James Piccoli

Rick Zabel

Lotto Soudal

Sander Armée

Steff Cras

Jasper De Buyst

Stan Dewulf

Carl Frederik Hagen

Frederik Frison

Kobe Goosens

Rasmus Iversen

Nikolas Maes

Gerben Thijssen

Tosh Van Der Sande

Brian Van Goethem

Harm Vanhoucke

Florian Vermeersch

Viktor Verschaeve

Tim Wellens


Eduardo Affini

Michael Albasini

Esteban Chaves

Luke Durbridge

Jack Haig

Michael Hepburn

Daryl Impey

Chris Jull Jensen

Mikel Nieve

Nick Schultz

Adam Yates

Andrei Zeits

Movistar Team

Hector Carretero

Dario Cataldo

Gabriel Cullaigh

Johan Jacobs

Nelson Oliveira

Jurgen Roelandts

José Joaquin Rojas

Einer Rubio

Sergio Samitier

Albert Torres

Carlos Verona

NTT Pro Cycling

Edvald Boasson Hagen

Victor Campanaerts

Stefan de Bod

Michael Gogl

Roman Kreuziger

Ben King

Gino Mäder

Louis Meintjes

Ben O’Connor

Rasmus Tiller

Max Walscheid

Rally Cycling

Ryan Anderson

Stephen Bassett

Matteo Dal-Cin

Gavin Mannion

Nicholas Zukowski



Team Jumbo-Visma

George Bennett

Pascal Eenkhoorn

Tobias Foss

Robert Gesink

Amund Grøndahl Jansen

Chris Harper

Sepp Kuss

Paul Martens

Mike Teunissen

Primož Roglič

Jonas Vingegaard

Team Sunweb

Albert Dainese

Nico Denz

Chris Hamilton

Jai Hindley

Wilco Kelderman

Michael Matthews

Nicholas Roche

Total Direct Energie

Lilian Calmejane

Romain Cardis

Jérome Cousin

Fabien Grellier

Pim Ligthart

Paul Ourselin

Florian Maitre

Lorenzo Manzin

Simon Sellier

Romain Sicard

Julien Simon

Geoffrey Soupe

Rein Taaramae

Anthony Turgis


Gianluca Brambilla

Guilio Ciccone

Nicola Conci

Niklas Eg

Koen de Kort

Emils Liepins

Bauke Mollema

Antonio Nibali

Vincenzo Nibali

Mads Pedersen

Toms Skujins

Edward Theuns

Swiss National Team

Michael Albasini

Matteo Badilatti

Stefan Bissegger

Filippo Colombo

Silvan Dillier

Matthias Frank

Robin Froidevaux

Claudio Imhof

Stefan Küng

Fabian Lienhard

Sébastian Reichenbach

Michael Schär

Nino Schurter